Oozing Goo - The Lava Lamp Syndicate

I'm an amateur haha. My lava lamp got messed up and "lava" stuck to one spot, ALL of it. And it didn't move.So it's been in my closet for 2 years maybe more. So I was bored and pulled it out. I found a love for it when I was laying in a beanie bag listening to homesick alien ( BEST LAVA MUSIC). So I was tampering with it and dropped it, then the cap busted off. So I've been doing everything to make it useable but Im no expert. Finally I completely washed out the globe. It's a pretty big lamp but it's not like a grande or anything. It's made by hot rock company if anyones curious. So basically I got to make a mixture. It would help if I had one on one instruction. Basically I have mineral oil and LOTS of paraffin as well as rubbing alcahol and so on. I was looking at the patent ingredient and was wondering what role tetra chloride plays. Also what should I use as the slip material. And last but not least how should I put it all together

Views: 178

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Did the goo come out too? Well, i've never tried the mineral oil and alcohol mixture but I've read it is that simple. Just mix the two. I could be wrong though. I haven't tried it just because it is so flammable. If you are working with the original goo I can help with your water mixture. I've been fiddling with my lamps for a while now, so just let me know. If you really like the base you could just buy a lava world lamp from walmart, target or spencers and transfer. I had a hot rock lava lamp and the lava never seemed to work right so I emptied it and took the lava from an 8 ounce (target) and a 20 ounce (walmart) and started over. I liked the base so it was totally worth the hassle. It works great. Good luck, luckily your ingredients for alcohol and mineral oil are cheap so if you mess up you can just try again!